Collaborative Writing in L2 Classrooms

Channel View Publications and Multilingual Matters

Earlier in July we published Collaborative Writing in L2 Classrooms by Neomy Storch. Here, Neomy tells us what inspired her to write the book.

Collaborative Writing in L2 ClassroomsMy interest in collaborative writing; that is, the co-production of a text by two or more writers, arose unintentionally. As an ESL teacher I frequently used small group and pair work in my classes in order to encourage my students to speak in the target language (English). I also used short editing tasks to encourage my students to focus on grammatical accuracy in writing. When I began research towards my PhD dissertation, I experimented with different grammar exercises and short writing tasks that the students were asked to complete in pairs. As I listened and observed my students working in pairs on these tasks, I became aware that the act of producing a text jointly elicited greater engagement than oral tasks, and certainly more focus on…

View original post 320 more words

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

